Asquith Boys High School logo

Asquith Boys High School

Asquith Boys High School

Exceptional Learning Opportunities for Boys

Telephone02 9477 3508


English study is mandatory in NSW from Kindergarten to Year 12.

Students learn about the English language through written, spoken and visual texts of increasing complexity as they progress through their schooling.

An understanding of the English language is central to how we communicate and essential for intellectual, social and emotional development.

The study of English should develop a love of literature and learning and be challenging and enjoyable. It develops skills to enable students to experiment with ideas and expression, to become active, independent and lifelong learners, to work with each other and to reflect on their learning.


The English Faculty at Asquith Boys High School are focused on providing explicit and meaningful learning opportunities for all students. As the only compulsory subject from Year 7-12, we are in the unique position where we can reach each and every one of our students. As such, our programs, assessments, pedagogies and resources are differentiated to meet the needs of the range of boys at Asquith, included targeted ESL classes in Year 10 and Gifted and Talented classes in Years 7-10.

Students in the junior school can expect to study a range of novels, films, short stories, multimedia texts, poetry, drama and non-fiction. Texts have been carefully curated to provide an appropriate level of challenge in terms of content material and textual forms and features, as well as their capacity to promote engagement amongst boys.

For further information and Syllabus documents on Stage 4 and 5 English, please visit the NESA website.

In the Senior years, students select from four different 2 Unit courses of English according to their interests and abilities:

- Advanced English

- Standard English

- English Studies


For students who excel in English, they may choose to take up Extension 1 English in Year 11 and Extension 2 English in Year 12.

The English Faculty also offer Philosophy as an elective course in Year 9 and 10 as well as running a range of extra-curricular activities including but not limited to:

  • Debating and Public Speaking
  • Book Club
  • Writing groups

Year 11 Standard English

Year 11 Standard have commenced reading the highly symbolic play, ‘The 7 Stages of Grieving' by Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman, and you can see the boys engaging with the imagery in a three dimensional manner through our representation of the set design.